Select your language

Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response

How to use this chapter

This chapter is divided into four sets of minimum standards:

Food security and nutrition assessment

Infant and young child feeding

Management of acute malnutrition and micronutrient deficiencies

Food security

The fourth set, food security, is subdivided into three sections: food security – food transfers; food security – cash and voucher transfers; and food security – livelihoods.

The Protection Principles and Core Standards must be used consistently with this chapter.

Although primarily intended to inform humanitarian response to a disaster, the minimum standards may also be considered during disaster preparedness and the transition to recovery activities.

Each of the sections contains the following:

If the required key indicators and actions cannot be met, the resulting adverse implications for the affected population should be appraised and appropriate mitigating actions taken.

Appendices include checklists for assessments, guidance on measuring acute malnutrition and determining the public health significance of micronutrient deficiencyand nutritional requirements.A select list of references, which points to sources of information on both general issues and specific technical issues and is divided into source material and further reading, is also provided.